Skip to content

Current Essay Competitions In Nigeria For 2015

UBA Foundation, the corporate social responsibility arm of United Bank for Africa (UBA) Plc, has announced call for entries for the 2016 edition of its annual National Essay Competition.

Ijeoma Aso, the Managing Director/CEO of UBA Foundation, who announced this last weekend, said the essay competition provides an opportunity for students in senior secondary schools in Nigeria to win prizes in form of educational grants.

The first prize for the UBA National Essay Competition is a N1 million educational grant for the winner to study in any African university of his or her choice. The second and third prizes are N750,000 and N500,000 educational grants respectively.

Aso explained that the competition was part of the Foundation’s initiative to promote creative and analytical thinking among senior secondary students in Nigeria and across Africa and a follow up on the Foundation’s Read Africa initiative, which promotes reading culture among students through mentoring and   free distribution of

Africa literary classics in secondary schools.

The national essay competition is also held in Ghana and Senegal.

Entries received for the competition will be reviewed by a distinguished panel of judges made up of professors from reputable Nigerian Universities, who will then shortlist 12 best essays for further assessment.

A second round of the competition will involve the 12 finalists  who will write a second supervised essay from which three best essays will be selected.

“Three best essays will be selected as the overall winners from 12 finalists that will emerge from the first round of the competition”  said Aso.

Standards Organisation of Nigeria (SON) invites interested Students below 35 years and in Nigerian Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges of Education to participate in the 2017, 4th African Organisation for Standardization (ARSO)’s Intercontinental Essay Competition.

The essay which is titled: The Role of Standardization in facilitating Human rights with particular focus on the rights of women” should not be more than 1200 words.

The African Organisation for Standardisation (ARSO) is the Continental Standards Body for Africa, with Standards Organisation of Nigeria (SON), as member. The Competition is organized at the National level by SON and at the Continental level by ARSO, where the best five (5) National Essays will compete to win.

The Competition is aimed at sensitizing African Youths on the issues and benefits of Standardization. The titles of the annual Essays are based on the the African Union’s annual themes for developmental agenda.

Consequently, the title of the 4th ARSO Essay Competition has been chosen in alignment with the AU’s declaration of 2016 as the “Africa Year of Human Rights with particular focus on the Rights of Women”.

Winners of the essay competition at the various levels are entitled to the following prizes;

National Level:

1st Position   – N100,000.00

2nd Position – N70,000.00

3rd Position – N50,000.00

Continental Level:

1st Position   – USD 1000

2nd Position – USD 800

3rd Position – USD 500

In addition, the first three (3) Winners at the Continental level will be entitled to an all expenses paid trip to the 2017 General Assembly of ARSO, in an African Country.

Note that submission of entries closes on 1st February, 2017 by 12.00 noon.

For more details, please visit the link below to download the Concept paper and the registration Form:

Your essay and registration form should be submitted via the following e-mail addresses:


For further details, please call:

08033390748, 07039183205